A&M-Texarkana dean of STEM to be inducted into medical and biological engineering elite


WASHINGTON, D.C. – The American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering (AIMBE) has announced the pending induction of Dr. Donald R. Peterson, dean of the College of Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics at Texas A&M University-Texarkana, to its College of Fellows. Dr. Peterson was nominated, reviewed and elected by peers and members of the College of Fellows for outstanding contributions to biomedical engineering leadership, education and community outreach and for seminal research in human exposure and response.

The College of Fellows is comprised of the top two percent of medical and biological engineers in the country. The most accomplished and distinguished engineering and medical school chairs, research directors, professors, innovators and successful entrepreneurs comprise the College of Fellows.

AIMBE Fellows are regularly recognized for their contributions in teaching, research and innovation. AIMBE Fellows have been awarded the Presidential Medal of Science and the Presidential Medal of Technology and Innovation and many also are members of the National Academy of Engineering, National Academy of Medicine and the National Academy of Sciences.

“The Texas A&M community is very proud of Dean Peterson and his upcoming induction into the College of Fellows,” said Dr. Emily Cutrer, president of Texas A&M University-Texarkana. “There is probably no greater honor for a scholar than to be recognized by peers in this way. And it is an honor for our university and our community that we have such an outstanding and internationally recognized scientist to lead our STEM programs.”

A formal induction ceremony will be held during AIMBE’s 25th Annual Meeting at the National Academy of Sciences Great Hall in Washington, D.C., on April 4. Dr. Peterson will be inducted along with 160 colleagues who make up the AIMBE College of Fellows Class of 2016.

Previous articleHouston County Man Guilty of Violating Asbestos Work Practice Standards
Next article“Six Leg Fun Run & 5K” creator and organizer named among Arkansas’ top youth volunteers of 2016