A&M-Texarkana education students receive Aspiring Educator Awards


Three education majors at Texas A&M University-Texarkana have been named 2016 recipients of the Delta Kappa Gamma Aspiring Educator Award.

Haley Colbert of Texarkana, Arkansas, Leah Williamson Thomas of Texarkana, Texas, and Madison Ward of De Kalb, Texas, each received a $1,000 scholarship from the Alpha State Texas Educational Foundation to assist in completion of their teaching degrees. All three students are in their final clinical student teaching semester.

Delta Kappa Gamma members Dr. Sara Lawrence, Debbie Shidemantle and Sara Langford with the A&M-Texarkana Teacher Preparation program recommended that the students apply for the award.

“We are proud of all of our future teachers and these three are certainly outstanding examples of the caliber of our education students. That’s our goal, for our candidates to stand out as effective, collaborative and creative teachers when they start their teaching careers,” said Ms. Langford, Director of Teacher Preparation Program and active Delta Kappa Gamma member. “By the way, all three of these are eligible to be hired as teachers by December 1st.”

Delta Kappa Gamma is a professional honor society of key women educators in the United States, Canada, Europe, Latin America and Japan. Its mission is to promote professional and personal growth of women educators and excellence in education.

Other A&M-Texarkana members of Delta Kappa Gamma include Dr. Maria Roberts, Dr. Emily Cutrer, Dr. Sandy Labby, Dr. Abbie Strunc and Dr. Jauquita Hargus.

Previous articleFormer union officer sentenced to probation, home detention, for embezzlement
Next articleWeekly Roadwork Report – TxDOT Atlanta District For Oct. 16-22, 2016