Endowment Established in Honor of Former Mayor

Chris Thomason, UAHT Chancellor; Don Hall, City Board Member; Don Still, Vice Mayor; Dr. Trevor Coffee, City Board Member; Dennis Ramsey; Steve Montgomery, Mayor; Mark Ross, City Board Member; Reginald Easter, City Board Member; and Catherine Cook, City Manager.

The University of Arkansas Hope-Texarkana is pleased to announce the establishment of the Dennis Ramsey Endowed Scholarship. The scholarship was established to honor the twenty-six years of service Ramsey dedicated as mayor of the City of Hope, Arkansas. Ramsey has also served on the UAHT Board of Visitors and Foundation Board for over ten years. The endowment will provide scholarships for students from Hope area schools to attend the U of A Hope campus.


“I am very grateful for those who graciously honored me in this special manner. But more importantly, the scholarships derived from this endowment will help defray the cost of an education for deserving students at UAHT for years to come. Having had the opportunity to serve our community civically for over forty years, I hope students who graduated in Hope will benefit from this endowment. I hope these students will remain in Hope, raise their families, and become actively involved citizens, so our town will grow and prosper,” said Ramsey.


UAHT Chancellor Chris Thomason said, “This endowment is an appropriate way to memorialize forever the work Dennis has done over forty years for both the city and community. Now it is fitting that Hope area students will be helped to obtain a better education and life, and hopefully, establish themselves in Hope, Arkansas.”


For more information about the Dennis Ramsey Endowed Scholarship or other scholarships available at the University of Arkansas Hope-Texarkana, call 870-777-5722 or visit www.uacch.edu.


Previous articleJury finds man guilty of manslaughter in Electric Cowboy fight, assesses $10K fine, no prison
Next articleSAU will sign historic agreement with Cuban University