Leadership Texarkana 2018 Wilbur Awards

Leanne Wright wins the IdaLee Hawkins Award for 2018. (Photo by Erin Rogers | TXK Today)

Leadership Texarkana held their annual Lunch with Leaders Tuesday, April 10, 2018, at Texarkana Country Club to honor Wilbur nominees and the Idalee Hawkins Leader.

The Wilbur Award is presented annually to individuals, organizations, and student leaders who exemplify the power to positively impact our community as models of effective leadership to make the best use of resources for our community’s best future. Named in honor of Wilbur Smith, anyone in the community is eligible to nominate for, or to be honored with, a Wilbur Award.

David Orr, City Planner for Texarkana, Texas, discussed Strategic Doing and the 2-year plans for impact for their 40th anniversary in 2020.  Orr discussed the launch of their new campaign #LT40StrategicDoing and encouraged everyone to use the hashtag.


Altrusa International of Texarkana
Damien Davis Foundation
Opportunities, Inc
Texas Urban Transit Districts / ArkLaTex Council
Winner: Opportunities, Inc.

Honorable Mentions:
Mardi Gras Commission / Parade
Martin Luther King Commission/ Parade
Texarkana Area Veterans Council/ Parade
Twin Cities Black History Associaton / Parade



Dr. Emily F. Cutrer
Robert DelGiorno
Joey Martin
Warren A. Smith, III
Mark Van Herpen
Betty Williams
Dr. Matthew Young
Winner: Dr. Matthew Young


Allie Grace Graves
Ali Milligan
Will Norton
Kate Todd
Jay Williamson
Winner: Ali Milligan

The Idalee Hawkins Award

LeAnne Wright


The signature sponsor

Texarkana Emergency Center.

Leadership Texarkana is now accepting applications for the class of 2019.

Previous articleTexarkana ISD Requesting Community Feedback in Core Areas
Next articleBowie County Sheriff’s Office arrests man with 28 grams of meth in his pants