RadioShack Gift Card Balances Can Now be Recovered


Arkansas Attorney General Leslie Rutledge today announced that a settlement has been reached with the former retailer, RadioShack, which will allow holders of the company’s gift cards to file claims seeking to recover the unused balance on their cards.

Consumers who have unused RadioShack gift cards with a balance may visit to read about the claims process and obtain a claim form, which they can submit electronically or by mail.

“When a popular retailer closes, many times consumers are left holding unused gift cards that could have been used at the store or online,” said Attorney General Rutledge. “Through this settlement, Arkansans still holding unused RadioShack gift cards may be able to receive 100 percent of the remaining balance. I encourage all Arkansans who have unused gift cards from RadioShack to submit a claim. As always, the Attorney General’s office stands ready to assist any Arkansan with this process.”

All claims will be reviewed according to the court approved plan and settlement, which established the RSH Liquidating Trust and authorized it to review and approve claims.

Under the order, the Trust will treat gift cards that were purchased by either the holder of the card or by the person who gave the card as a gift from RadioShack, the RadioShack website or any of its authorized sellers as a priority claim and pay 100 percent of the balance on the cards to consumers.

Cards acquired in any other way will not be treated as priority claims, and those claimants will at most receive a small percentage of the balance of the card or may not receive any payment.

The deadline for filing claims is Dec. 2, 2016, and consumers in all 50 states are eligible to file proofs of claim.

Rutledge reminds consumers that no one associated with this settlement will contact them to ask for personal or financial information or to request any payment. Consumers asked for such information or payment should say no to those requests and contact the Attorney General’s office at (800) 482-8982 or

Arkansas was joined in the settlement by Arizona, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Missouri, Nevada, New Hampshire, New York, North Dakota, Ohio, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Tennessee, Virginia, Washington and the District of Columbia.

Previous articleDHS S&T Awards $7.8 Million for Cyber Physical System Security Research
Next articleDHS & S&T conduct Training on Response to Active Shooters