TASD names Distinguished Alumni


The Texarkana Arkansas School District will celebrate Representative Carol Dalby as the Arkansas High School Distinguished Alumna. Representative Dalby
is a graduate of Arkansas High School and a lifelong resident of Texarkana, Arkansas.

Upon graduation, Representative Dalby received her Bachelor of Science in Education
from Ouachita Baptist University. She received her Master of Science from Texarkana A&M University – Texarkana, and went on to obtain a Juris Doctorate from the University of Arkansas School of Law.

In 2016, Dalby was elected to the Arkansas House of Representative. She is serving her second term in the Arkansas House of Representatives where she represents District 1, which includes Texarkana and a portion of Miller County. For the 92nd General Assembly; Representative Dalby serves as Chair on the House Judiciary Committee; the House City, County, and Local Affairs Committee; House Rules Committee; Girls’ State; Arkansas
Legislative Institute; Arkansas Legislative Council (alternate); Legislative Joint Audit
(alternate); Speakers appointee – Alternate Courts Advisory Committee; I-49 Caucus;
and Arts Economic Bi-Partisan Committee, just to name a few.

Representative Dalby served as a past president on the Texarkana Arkansas School
District Board of Directors. She also served as President or Chairperson on other
boards and commissions which include the University of Arkansas Alumni
Association Board of Directors; Opportunities, Inc.; Texarkana Resources for the
Disabled; Texarkana Chapter of the Red Cross; Texarkana Library Commission; and
Women for the Arts.

Representative Dalby is a founding member of Arkansas of Women for Education
and currently serves on the Women for Texas A&M, Texarkana Regional Center on
Aging, and Texarkana Friends of UAMS boards.

Representative Dalby is a member of the First United Methodist Church where she
teaches Sunday School. She has two grown children, Robert and Caroline, and lives
in Texarkana with her husband, John.

Previous articleJury sentences former substitute to maximum 20 years for online solicitation of a 12-year-old
Next articleU of A Hope-Texarkana commencement ceremony to be held May 14