2015 Eagle Roundup to honor A&M-Texarkana distinguished alumni and faculty member

Top - Dr. Ed and Gail Eichler of Texarkana, Texas, Dr. Angela Sikorski, associate professor of psychology, Ray Walsh of Ray Walsh Properties of Texarkana, Texas Bottom - Dennis Landreaux, Texarkana Market president of BancorpSouth, Mayor Bob Bruggeman of Texarkana, Texas

The Texas A&M University-Texarkana Alumni Association has announced honorees for the 2015 Eagle Roundup: A Celebration of Distinguished Alumni and Faculty set for Thursday, Oct. 1, at 6:30 p.m. at Eagle Hall in the University Center.

Distinguished alumni honorees include Mayor Bob Bruggeman of Texarkana, Texas; Dennis Landreaux, Texarkana market president of BancorpSouth; and Ray Walsh of Ray Walsh Properties of Texarkana, Texas. Distinguished faculty recipient is Dr. Angela Sikorski, associate professor of psychology.

Dr. Ed and Gail Eichler of Texarkana will be honored with the Spirit of A&M-Texarkana Award.

Mark Bledsoe (BS ‘88, MSIS ‘89) of the United Way of Greater Texarkana and Jill Whittington (MSBA ‘11) of Humco Holding Group are serving as event chair and co-chair, respectively.

Both say this year’s celebration, which is set during A&M-Texarkana Homecoming Week, promises to be both exciting and entertaining.

Presentation of the Distinguished Alumni Awards began in 1982. The Distinguished Faculty Award was introduced in 1999.

“A&M-Texarkana has a rich tradition of honoring distinguished alumni and faculty for their accomplishments in their careers and in the community,” Bledsoe said. “We are delighted to announce these prominent recipients and invite the entire community to join us in celebrating their achievements.”

The Eagle Roundup will include an old-fashioned barbecue with all of the trimmings, Whittington said.

“We’ll have amazing food, fantastic music and an enjoyable program to recognize our distinguished alumni and faculty member,” she added. “It’s going to be quite the celebration.”

Texarkana party band Split Decision, featuring A&M-Texarkana alumnus and faculty member Selena Jefferies, will headline the event. Tickets are $35 and are on sale now.

“Corporations, individuals and organizations sponsoring the 2015 Eagle Roundup provide much-needed funds for student scholarships at A&M-Texarkana,” Bledsoe said. “An investment in scholarships at A&M-Texarkana is an investment in the future of our community, our state and our region.”

Information on tickets, as well as individual and corporate sponsorships, is available on the Alumni Relations page of the university website at www.tamut.edu.

For more information about the event, contact Mark Missildine in Alumni Relations at Mark.Missildine@tamut.edu or call (903) 223-3153.

Previous articleTrial begins for ex-prison guard accused in violent assault
Next articleNEA Our Town Grant to Fund Design Development of Texarkana Art Park