Texas A&M University-Texarkana hosts ‘Tribute to Scholarly Accomplishments’


Texas A&M University-Texarkana recently recognized faculty members for their outstanding scholarly achievements with a “Tribute to Scholarship Accomplishments” reception and awards program.

Dr. Bill McHenry, dean of Graduate Studies and Research, provided leadership for the tribute, which was hosted by President Dr. Emily Cutrer, Provost Dr. Rosanne Stripling, Library Director Teri Stover, and the staffs of the John F. Moss Library and Graduate Studies and Research. The event honored approximately 25 faculty members for their achievements throughout the year.

Dr. Drew Morton, assistant professor of Mass Communication, was named Scholar of the Year. He also received a first-place award for Excellence in Scholarly Writing/Publications and second place for Excellence in Scholarly Creative Arts and Other Scholarly Activity.


“Drew had an incredible year with scholarly production ranging from journal articles to continued editorship of the first peer-reviewed journal that uses media as the ‘articles,’” Dr. McHenry said.

Dr. Craig Nakashian, assistant professor of History, received the first-place award for Excellence in Professional Presentations. Dr. Brian Billings, associate professor of English, received first-place honors for Excellence in Scholarly Creative Arts and Other Scholarly Activity.

Dr. Max Laddomada, associate professor of Electrical Engineering, received second-place honors in the Scholar of the Year category. Dr. Brenda Riley, assistant professor of Criminal Justice, received second-place honors for Excellence in Professional Presentations, and Dr. Richard Parsons, assistant professor of Economics and Finance, received second place for Excellence in Scholarly Writing/Publications.

The College of Education and Liberal Arts was named College of the Year.

“It is impressive to see the array and scope of scholarly activities of our faculty. This event serves as the moment each year when the excellence of our faculty’s scholarship, which has occurred throughout the year, is displayed and recognized,” Dr. McHenry said.

“Judging by the submissions this year, A&M-Texarkana has a bright future when it comes to scholarly contributions made by its faculty at the state, regional, national and international levels.”

Previous article5-year-old dropped off at Wadley by carjackers
Next articleDaily Police Briefing – 12/21/15