TISD Elementary School Students Took Honors at First Lego League Robotics Qualifying Tournament


Texarkana, Texas | Robotics teams from the Martha and Josh Morriss Mathematics & Engineering Elementary School took honors during the recently held First Lego League Robotics Qualifying Tournament at Parish Episcopal School in Dallas, TX on December 13.

With 32 competing teams in the 4th thru 8th grade level, three Morriss Elementary teams qualified to move forward to the Regional Championship which will be held on February 14, 2015 at Parish Episcopal School in Dallas, TX.  The teams that advanced are:

  • STAAR Wars, also named Second Place Grand Champions.  Members include:  Emma Allen, Mehki Garcia, Chloe Hoercher, Madison Kennemore, Doug Kyles, Aasna Pokhrel, Mathew Windes and Seth Whittington.
  • Lego Learners, who also received 2nd Place for Table Performance.  Members are:  Melexxa Brooks, Braylen Garren, Christopher Gennings, Matthew Lingle, Dakota Muncrief, Katey Pappas and Chapman White.
  • Brainy Bots, who were also named Overall Project Winner.  Members include:  Morgan Brooks, Will Carter, Jonathan Gass, Stephanie Jumper, Spencer Lawing, Christian Leach, Diya Patel, Ethan Power and Collin Vanderburg.

Additionally, the Smarty Pants Team received the Rising Star Award.  Team members include:  Will Anderson, Patton Culbertson, Logan Dial, Jessie Gamble, Kade Kinder, Nate Mennie, Grant Mitchell, Travis Nguyen and Angie Parrott.



STAAR Wars: 

Front Row:  Seth Whittington, Emma Allen, Aasna Pokhrel

Back Row:  Chloe Hoercher, Mathew Windes, Madison Kennemore, Mehki Garcia, Doug Kyles


Lego Learners: 

Front Row:  Braylen Garren, Katey Pappas

Middle Row:  Christopher Gennings, Chapman White, Melexxa Brooks

Back Row:  Dakota Muncrief, Matthew Lingle


Brainy Bots: 

Front Row:  Morgan Brooks, Diya Patel, Stephanie Jumper

Middle Row:  Ethan Power, Jonathan Gass, Christian Leach, Collin Vanderburg

Back Row:  Will Carter, Spencer Lawing


Smarty Pants

Front Row:  Will Anderson, Travis Nguyen, Angie Parrott, Kade Kinder

Back Row:  Jessie Gamble, Nate Mennie, Logan Dial, Grant Mitchell, Patton Culbertson

Previous articleTexarkana College to Host Two Donor Presentations
Next articleUACCH-Texarkana Employees Donated $11,000 to UACCH Foundation