Texas High School Student Council Earns National and State Awards for Outstanding Leadership and Service


Texas High School Student Council recently received national and state recognition for their outstanding achievements in leadership, service and activities that serve to improve the school and community.

At the national level, THS Student Council was awarded the National Gold Council of Excellence Award by the National Association of Student Councils (NASC). Councils awarded the gold level have successfully demonstrated the highest levels of leadership. “Receiving a NASC National Gold Council of Excellence Award reflects the highest dedication on the part of the school to providing a strong, well-rounded student council program,” said Ann Postlewaite, National Association of Secondary School Principals (NASSP) Student Programs Director. “They are one of 28 high schools in Texas to receive this award and are one of only two high schools in the state to win the award for seven consecutive years.”

On the state level, Texas High was named a State Sweepstakes Council in various categories for service projects conducted during the school year. THS was one of only 213 schools in the state to receive this prestigious honor. Outstanding recognition was earned in the following categories:

  • Outstanding Student Council – Katherine Doan, Chair;
  • Outstanding Community Service – Gage Martin & Marley Crawford, Chairs;
  • Outstanding DASH – Caroline Purtle, Colleen Russell & Taylor Post, Chairs;
  • Outstanding Pride and Patriotism – Katie Johnston, Chair;
  • Outstanding Energy & Environment – Maggie Coleman & Nick Richter, Chairs.

“As student council members across the state of Texas cross the stage to pick up their diplomas, more and more will be moving on to college and careers with a commitment to public service, civic participation, and the knowledge that they make a difference in their communities and their lives through service to others and participation in the democratic process,” said Terry Hamm, Director of Texas Association of Student Councils (TASC). “I am constantly amazed at the contributions made by high school student council members under the guidance of exceptional Student Council advisors.”

Other recognitions received during the TASC Annual Conference were:

*Gage Martin, THS senior, was one of two students awarded a Texas Association of Student Councils District 19 scholarship. Gage plans to attend the University of Arkansas in the fall. Scholarships were awarded based on academic achievement, personal leadership skills and TASC participation at the local, district and state level. He is the son of Mel and Todd Martin and has over 1,000 personal volunteer hours for his high school career.

How Does Your Program GROW?, a student-produced video from Texas High School’s TigerVision program was named Top Video Winner during the conference. The theme for video submissions was GROW (Go Reach Our World). Texas High’s video was based on their work volunteering at the Community Café, a local food pantry. Student videographers were John Norton and Josh Whitehorn and the video featured members of the council setting up, preparing, serving and cleaning up after a meal at Community Café. The video also featured council members helping clients shop in the pantry. THS Student Council has invested over 800 total volunteer hours this year to the Community Café project.

*THS Student Council was elected 2015-2016 Vice-President for TASC. Ricky Cooks, THS Student Representative and Susan Waldrep, Advisor, will represent THS on the TASC Board of Directors and be part of all planning for next year’s annual meeting.

Advisors for Texas High School Student Council are Susan Waldrep and Debbie Nicholas.

Previous articleThree Vehicle Accident Closes Jefferson at 24th
Next articleDrug Dealer Gets 120 Months for 280 Grams of Cocaine Base