TISD Yearbook and Online News Recognized at Journalism Convention

Brianna O’Shaughnessy, Caroline Purtle, Clint Smith (Advisor), Kelsi Brinkmeyer & Kristin McCasland

The National Scholastic Press Association (NSPA) recognized Texas High School student publications with top awards during their National High School Journalism Convention on April 16-19 in Denver, CO.


The Tiger yearbook took First Place, out of a field of ten other high schools, for the Best in Show in the 233-288 book size.  The yearbook was also named one of 66 Pacemaker Finalists from 289 entries.


Texas High School’s Tiger Times Online was one of 15 finalists, from a field of 172 entries, to earn Pacemaker status.  A team of three judges worked over the course of several weeks to select Pacemaker recipients based on content and coverage, writing and editing, design, rich media and interactivity.

Student winners during the convention were:

Kelsi Brinkmeyer – Superior Award in Yearbook Sports Photography;

Kristin McCasland – Excellent Award in Feature Writing;

Caroline Purtle – Honorable Mention in News Writing;

Brianna O’ShaughnessyHonorable Mention in Review Writing.

Previous articleSuspect at Large in Blanton Street Shooting, Victim Expected to Recover
Next articleAdditional Charges Added For Mount Pleasant Woman Arrested in Texarkana