WFA Street Party, NY Philharmonic String Quartet, and TRAHC Heroes

The New York Philharmonic String Quartet members, Frank Haung, Sheryl Staples, Carter Brey, and Cy

TRAHC hosted the New York Philharmonic String Quartet Saturday October 7, 2017 at the Historic Perot Theater.

The Women for the arts hosted a lively street dance before the performance and provided food and drinks for those in attendance.

The quartet played several beautiful songs that filled the Perot Theater with warm and uplifting tones that touched the hearts of all in the audience. The show concluded with a standing ovation and a thundering of applause.

The New York Philharmonic String Quartet is made up of 4 principle musicians from the Orchestra; Frank Huang, Concertmaster, Sheryl Staples, Principal Associate Concertmaster, Cynthia Phelps, Principal Viola, and Carter Brey, Principal Cello.  This group of talented musician’s way originally formed in January 2017 as part of the Philharmonic’s 175 th anniversary season.

Each of the four members have won multiple awards as recognition for their dedication and hard work in their field. They have appeared as concerto soloists with the Philharmonic and other orchestras in many places around the world.

TRAHC also awarded several TRAHC Hero awards last night during the program. TRAHC begin giving out these awards in 2001 to recognize special individuals or groups in the community who share TRAHC’s mission of “Growing people and community through the arts.  

2017 – 2018 TRAHC Heroes honored before the event Meredith Morris Farren, Susannah Morris Farren, Megan Griffon, Linda McClemens, Marvin Williams, Claudia Snow, Jared and Tiffany Horton, Ron Mills, and Not pictured Christina Frost.
(Photo by Dylan McNiel | TXK Today)

The Arts partner award was given to Century 21 All Points Realty for empowering the community and individuals to grow through the arts.

The Arts Champion Award was given to Susannah Morris Linnett and Meredith Morris Farren for being individuals who work actively as advocates for the arts.

The Arts educator award went to Christina Frost for enriching and transforming lives through her teaching of the arts.

The Art Smart award went to Megan Griffin for being a model of the masterful arts-rich teaching and turning them on to learning.

The standing Ovation award went to Linda McClemens whose gifts of time and energy have helped significantly impact TRACH’s presence in the community.

The Betty Parker award was given to Marvin Williams which recognized his going above and beyond in his continuous support and promoting of the arts in the community.

The Outstanding Community Impact award was given to an anonymous foundation at Bancorp South for exemplary and long standing support of the Texarkana Regional Arts & Humanities Council, Inc.

We would like to congratulate all the recipients of the TRAHC Heroes awards and thank them for all the hard work and dedication they give to the Texarkana community.

Previous articleBattle on the Border
Next articleFields of Faith