Kiwanis Holds First Annual Awards & Grants Banquet

Kiwanis of the Year recipient, Maxie Johnson. (Photo by Erin Rogers | TXK Today)

The 1st Annual Awards & Grants Banquet was held Thursday evening, June 15, 2017, at 6pm at the Truman Arnold Center.

Kiwanis recognized members of their organization and several members of the community that have contributed over the last year. The Kiwanis of the Year recipient is Maxie Johnson and the Stuart Daniels Leadership Award was given to John Debenport.

Several scholarships were awarded and over $20,000 in grant funds were distributed to 25 different local agencies.


Grant Recipients:

  • 1st Choice Pregnancy
  • Alzheimer’s Alliance
  • Bowie County Special Olympics
  • Boy Scouts Troop 3
  • Boy Scouts Troop 86
  • Challenged Outdoorsmen of America
  • Fairview Elementary
  • Hospice of Texarkana
  • K.I.D.S. Camp
  • Klondike Academy
  • Literacy Council
  • Northeast Texas CASA
  • Opportunities
  • Partnership for the Pathways
  • PRIDE Academy
  • Randy Sam’s Outreach Shelter
  • Runnin’ WJ Ranch
  • Stuff the Bus
  • Texarkana College
  • Texarkana College Foundation
  • Texarkana Museums System
  • Texarkana Resources
  • Texas Ramp Project
  • Watersprings Ranch
  • Young Writers of TAMU-T



Kiwanis Grant recipients (Photo by Erin Rogers | TXK Today)


John Debenport, Stuart Daniels Leadership Award recipient, receives the Mayor’s pin from Mayor Bob Bruggeman.
Previous articleWilbur Smith Rotary Club to award 3 scholarships and club memberships to A&M-Texarkana graduate students
Next articleFormer Dr. Phil producer faces suit in Texarkana federal court