TAMU-T Announces Award Winners


Texas A&M University-Texarkana recently celebrated academic excellence, student success and community leadership at the 2017 Student Awards Banquet hosted by the Office of Student Life at A&M-Texarkana.

Outstanding undergraduate students in the College of Business included Jacqueline Carver of Bloomburg, Texas, accounting; Anita Sharma of Texarkana, Texas, management information systems; Ashley Maya of De Queen, Arkansas, finance; Kassandra Vandever of Texarkana, Texas, management; and Sumer Johnson of Texarkana, Arkansas, marketing.

Outstanding graduate students in the College of Business were Nathanael Betz of Texarkana, Arkansas, David Griekspoor of Atlanta, Texas, and Evelyn Roberts of Texarkana, Texas.

Outstanding undergraduate students in the College of Education and Liberal Arts were Essie-Elizabeth Pippins of Daingerfield, Texas, sociology; Kimberly Sweat of McCaskill, Arkansas, history; Allison Johnson of Texarkana, Texas, English; Patti Custer of Linden, Texas, psychology; Jay Budzilowski of Texarkana, Arkansas, mass communication; Whitney Garrett of Maud, Texas, political science; Taylor Gulley of Texarkana, Texas, education; and Percilla Cothren of Wake Village, Texas, criminal justice.

Outstanding graduate students in the College of Education and Academic Success included Casey Purifoy, English; Rachael Cherry and Charles Jordan, both of Texarkana, Texas, instructional technology; Savannah Quinn of Texarkana, Texas, clinical mental health counseling; and Ester Pippins of Texarkana, Texas, adult and higher education.

Outstanding undergraduate students in the College of Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics included Jonathan Hall of Linden, Texas, electrical engineering; Channing Ward of Broken Bow, Oklahoma, computer science; Makenzie Sangalli of Texarkana, Texas, biology; Garrett Mason of Shreveport, Louisiana, math; and Whitney King of Texarkana, Texas, nursing.

Yarketha Nard of Texarkana, Arkansas, received the outstanding graduate student in nursing award.
Jonathan Nonmacher, a sophomore from Houston, received the Scott Bruner Award for Visionary Student Leadership. He is president of the Residence Hall Association, a Student Ambassador, a member of Phi Lambda Chi fraternity, an executive member of the Eagle Business Club/Phi Beta Lambda, a student worker in the university’s Marketing department and an orientation leader.
The Future Teachers Association received the Student Organization of the Year Award.

Brenda Riley, assistant professor of criminal justice, received the Adviser of the Year Award. She is the adviser of the Criminal Justice Association.

Jonathan Claiborne received the Resident Assistant of the Year honor.

Previous articleConvicted Felon arrested with 2 firearms and a large quantity of marijuana after struggling with officers
Next articleUofA Hope-Texarkana honors outstanding faculty member.