Arkansas driver’s licenses good for 8 years available in Jan. 2016

Advertisement

The Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration announced that motorists will be able to obtain driver’s licenses that are valid for eight years beginning on January 1, 2016.

As required under Act 343 of 2015, drivers who renew their licenses will be required to pay a $40 fee in return for a license that will be valid for eight years. Previously, licenses were valid for four years and available upon payment of a $20 fee.

The eight-year license is only available upon renewal or within one year of a license renewal date.

Advertisement

Duplicate driver’s licenses will remain available for a $10 fee. Licenses for commercial drivers and State identification cards will remain valid for four years.

Fees charged to obtain either commercial driver’s licenses or identification cards will remain unchanged.

Advertisement!