Local Students Among 2015 Congressional Art Competition Winners

HONORABLE MENTION "Colorful Sighting" by Emily McLeod - Hooks High School

Congressman John Ratcliffe announced the winners for the high school art competition his office held in conjunction with the U.S. House of Representatives. The 2015 Grand Prize Winner is Aaron Tamez of Royse City High School followed by Piper Fisk of Rockwall High School, and Rylie Power and Colton Johnson of Texas High School.

“I am extremely impressed with the quality of artwork my office received this year. Aaron Tamez’s artwork was sensational and will represent our district and Royse City well in the halls of the U.S. Capitol.” said U.S. Rep. Ratcliffe. “Ms. Power, Mr. Colton and Ms. Fisk should be extremely proud of their work as well, along with the rest of the young artists that participated in this year’s contest. I appreciate how these students’ teachers and parents supported their efforts. All of these students are very talented and have bright futures.” Ratcliffe added.

The Congressional Art Competition, themed “An Artistic Discovery,” is an opportunity to recognize and encourage the best artistic talent throughout each congressional district. The competition is open to all high school students. The overall winning artwork of each participating district will be displayed for one year in the U.S. Capitol.

The 4th Congressional District of Texas winners were selected by nine judges from across the District, including college art department heads, art league members and accomplished artists.

The winners:
Grand Prize Winner – Aaron Tamez “1950’s Rustic Beauty”; Artwork will hang in the Capitol.
1st Runner-Up – Piper Fisk “Forward”; Artwork will hang in Mr. Ratcliffe’s D.C. Office. Rockwall Health High School
2nd Place – Rylie Power “It Is Not the Same Anymore”; Artwork will hang in Mr. Ratcliffe’s D.C. Office. Texas High School
3rd Place- Colton Johnson “Happy With You”; Artwork will hang in Mr. Ratcliffe’s D.C. Office. Texas High School

Honorable Mentions (in no particular order)
Emily McLeod –“Colorful Sighting” Hooks High School
Cole Wallace – “Rustic Ichthus” Royse City High School
Jera Davis – “Cooled Off” Texas High School
Marie Ramirez – “Lighting Away” Chapel Hill High School
Ashalee Wagstaff – “Persistence of Memory” Hooks High School
Maricela Hernandez “The Dance” Chapel Hill High School

Each student who entered, with the exception of the Grand Prize Winner will be eligible for the “People’s Choice Award,” an online competition where constituents can vote by liking a student’s artwork at http://on.fb.me/1JFIhDl (U.S. Rep. Ratcliffe’s Facebook Page). The People’s Choice Award winner will also be featured in U.S. Representative Ratcliffe’s D.C. office. Mr. Tamez will also receive two round-trip airline tickets to attend the winners’ reception in Washington, D.C. with Congressman Ratcliffe.

Contest finalist artwork is currently featured here: https://ratcliffe.house.gov/media-center/photo-galleries/2015-congressional-art-competition

Previous articleTexarkana Texas Fire Department received donation of stuffed animals to comfort children
Next articleRRAD increases security amid ISIS concerns