TAMU-T Students Won Awards at the Promotion of Campus Activities South Central Regional Programming Conference in Houston, Texas


Texarkana, Texas (November 17, 2014) | Board Officers of the TAMU-T Campus Activities  attended the Association for the Promotion of Campus Activities (APCA) South Central Regional Programming Conference in Houston, Texas.  Before going to conference, students were able to nominate events, students, programming boards, associates, for awards.

The conference was October 14-16, 2014 in Houston, Texas.

Two categories of awards are available:  Regional Awards and the Graphics Competition. The Graphics competition allows activities boards to submit materials for the following categories: printed advertising, t-shirts, novelty items, and Facebook page. The Regional Award categories are much more meaningful.  The categories are Student Programmer of the Year, Event of the Year, Organization of the Year, Advisor of the Year, and Associate (booking agency) of the Year.  The winner of each category of Regional awards is considered for the national award (out of 5 Regions).

TAMU-T participants won the following awards:

  • 2nd Place for Graphics Competition-Printed Advertising
  • 1st Place for Graphics Competition-Facebook Page
  • Event of the Year for the South Central Region Event for De-Stress for Finals Day 2014
  • Amber Spence won Student Programmer of the Year for the South Central Region

TAMU-T’s region consists of New Mexico, Texas, Oklahoma, Arkansas, Louisiana, and Mississippi.  The conference hosts well over 50 schools with over 400 students in attendance.

TAMU-T is also performing consistently well in our region. Dustin Nix was named Student Programmer of the Year last year and in 2012 we won the National Award for Campus Event of the Year. This is the first time we have ever taken TWO Regional Awards at a single conference.

“We really do have an exceptional group of students that represent us at this conference and provides programming for our campus,” stated Assistant Director of Student Life Celeste McNiel.

The students that attended are:  Dustin Nix, Misty Jade Ruth, Kris London, Garrett Wilson, Chesney Spears, Marina Garza, and Amber Spence.

TAMU-T will find out the winners of the National Award in March 2015 at the National Programming Conference which is held in Jacksonville, Florida.

“I am so excited for them and proud of them and I wanted to share the information with all of you as well.  They work really hard and it is awesome to see them get the recognition they deserve from a national campus activities organization!” stated McNiel.

Previous articleFind Deals, Not Trouble, Shopping Online | Attorney General Dustin McDaniel
Next articleLocal Author of New Phantom Killer Book to Appear at Texarkana Public Library