A&M-Texarkana recognizes 32 honor graduates at fall commencement


Thirty-two students were recognized as honor graduates by Texas A&M University-Texarkana at the fall 2016 commencement ceremony Dec. 9 at the historic Perot Theatre in downtown Texarkana, Texas.


Students graduating in both August and December participated in the ceremony.


Students who complete a minimum of 45 hours of their bachelor’s degrees at A&M-Texarkana are considered for recognition. Summa cum laude graduates have 3.9-4.0 grade-point averages. Magna cum laude graduates have 3.75-3.89 GPAs, and cum laude graduates have an overall GPA of 3.5-3.74.


The lists are recorded alphabetically by state, county, hometown and name of student.


August 2016


Magna Cum Laude



Little River, Foreman, Jami Gay Thompson



Bowie, Texarkana, Latriesha Lynnette Grandy

Cass, Avinger, Autumn Chere Briggs

Red River, Avery, Byron Keith Minter


Cum Laude



Bowie, Texarkana, Lauren Kay Arnold

Bowie, Texarkana, Daiyonna Michelle Smith

Bowie, Texarkana, Medina Diane Thomas

Bowie, Texarkana, Wachiraya Weerasorn

Bowie, Wake Village, Lindy Elizabeth McCandless


December 2016


Summa Cum Laude



Miller, Texarkana, Sydney Noelle Schoen



Bowie, Texarkana, Jaci Rachelle Roberts

Cass, Atlanta, Gabrielle Elaine Thompson


Magna Cum Laude



Miller, Texarkana, Jay Curtis Budzilowski

Miller, Texarkana, Tony Mark McKnight

Little River, Ashdown, Anthony Marquette Nelson



Bowie, Texarkana, Tyron Hinton

Bowie, Texarkana, Deborah Kay Smith

Camp, Pittsburg, Jesi Heather Buck

Cass, Atlanta, Isabella Marie Sertuche

Red River, Bogota, Kim Marie Lindsey


Cum Laude



Howard, Saratoga, Brandi Kay O’Donnell

Miller, Fouke, Stacy M. Clark

Washington, Fayetteville, Kenneth Scott Hoelscher



Bowie, DeKalb, Madison Nicole Ward

Bowie, Hooks, Alexander Austin Gray

Bowie, Texarkana, Claudia Hannah Gorse

Bowie, Texarkana, Jason Lynn Harris

Bowie, Texarkana, Warisara Weerasorn

Bowie, Texarkana, Ryan Blake Williams

Cass, Texarkana, Christopher Steven Holmes

Cass, Atlanta, Savannah Marie King

Titus, Mount Pleasant, Bethany Joy Zittel




Link to Photos: https://fil.email/J3fo8


Individual photos of the students are included. Not pictured: Lauren Kay Arnold, Medina Diane Thomas, Autumn Chere Briggs, Byron Keith Minter, Jami Gay Thompson, Christopher Steven Holmes, Brandi Kay O’Donnell, Bethany Joy Zittel and Tony Mark McKnight.


About Texas A&M University-Texarkana

As a member of The Texas A&M University System, Texas A&M University-Texarkana is a comprehensive regional university that provides students with academically challenging, engaging and rewarding educational experiences through quality teaching, scholarship, student support services, co-curricular programming, research and service.

Previous articleArkLaTex under Tornado Watch until 9 p.m.
Next articleMeet and Greet with New Head Football Coach and AD Barry Norton