TAPD Recognizes Outstanding Officers at Awards Ceremony


March 19, 2015 | The Texarkana Police Department held an awards ceremony on Wednesday, March 18th, at 2:30 p.m. in the Texarkana Police Training Facility located on the first floor of the Bi-State Criminal Justice Center.

During this ceremony, Chief Robert Harrison honored a number of department personnel; including recent Officers of the Quarter and Officer of the Year, present a lifesaving award, and two police retirements. The following is a list of received awards:

Officer of the Quarter 2014, for the 1st quarter – Corporal Les Munn

Officer of the Quarter 2014, for the 2nd quarter – Officer Jeremy Gordon

Officer of the Quarter 2014, for the 3rd quarter – Detective Tom Briggs

Officer of the Quarter 2014, for the 4th quarter – Officer Allen Johnson


Officer of the Year 2014 – Corporal John VanMeter


Lifesaving Award – Corporal Les Munn


Retirement – Detective Angel Guzman 28 Years of Service

Corporal John Knouse 24 Years of Service


Previous articleGarland County Jail Escapee Sentenced to 32 Years in Prison on Firearms Charges in Connection With Robbery and Carjacking
Next articleTexas Senate Set to Pass ‘Campus Carry’ Bill