Texarkana Public Schools Foundation Awards TISD Teacher’s with $20,995 in Innovative Program Grants


January 21, 2015 | As part of their continued effort to enrich and maximize educational opportunities for students, Texarkana Public Schools Foundation awarded 47 Innovative Educator Grants to TISD teachers for a total of $20,995.  Grant monies will be used to assist teachers in developing innovative and imaginative instructional programs which promote student achievement and advance new approaches to teaching.

The Texarkana Public Schools Foundation was established in 2003 by a group of citizens dedicated to enriching and maximizing the educational opportunities for students and staff at TISD through funding that is not available from local, state or federal sources.  Through community support, the foundation works toward building a legacy of excellence in education, ensuring that every child and teacher has the tools necessary for success.  To date, the Texarkana Public Schools Foundation has awarded approximately $175,000 in grants to district teachers.

Teachers receiving Innovative Educator Grants, along with program name are:

Dianne Cherry – “Big Math for Little Hands”

Penny Cole – “FlashMaster”

Esmeralda Contreras – “Math Game Stations”

Christina Cook – “Eco Kids”

Angela Coston – “First Grade Wiggle Worms”

Samuel Coston – “iPads in the Classroom”

Mary Kathryn Cox – “Beginning with the End in Mind”

William Cruz – “iPods in the Classroom”

Kacey Davis – “iPad, uPad, wePad for Communications”

Christin Dickens – “R3 – Read, Regard and Retain”

Wendy Dowd – “Tidings of Comfort in a Learning Environment”

Alisa Dowdy – “Differentiated Instruction”

Kim Downs & Kara Wicks – “Technology Stations in the Collaborative Classroom”

Elizabeth Ann Duke – “Techie Speech”

Sonya Freeze – “Manners If You Please”

Summer Gibson – “Wiggle While You Work”

Beth Greening – “Rolling Box Backdrop”

Lindy Hatridge – “Classroom Technology

Kim Hayes – “Learning if Fun with Science & Social Studies”

Meagan Hensley – “Science is Spelled with 5 E’s”

Robin Hilton – “Connecting the Past with the Present & Creating a Better Future”

Senitha Hodge – “Hands on the Stacks”

Joya Holden – “Reading Like a Writer and the Need for Powerful Nonfiction”

Janis Holmes – “Do Your Math, Know Your Reading, Know Your Math”

Jennifer Klar – “Wonder Workshop”

Amy Kyles – “iPad Mini’s”

Kristen Larey – “Traveling Library

Rita Martin – “Paper Roller Project”

Tamara McGraw – “Revolutionary Reading”

Monica McLelland – “Razz Kids”

Taylor Page – “Smart Science”

Stephanie Parker – “Learning by Reading”

Shea Phillips – “Painting Like the Masters”

Tanya Powell – “Closing the Gap in Biology”

Melanie Power – “The Mobile Art Room”

Maria Primm – “The Family Farm”

Emily Ransom – “Women’s Rights & Social Reform in US History”

Shannon Roberson – “Sensory Sensations”

Kirby Sheffield – “Science Guru”

Jennifer Singleton – “Station Vacation”

Nichole Smith – “Viewing Science to Succeed”

Daniela Tirrito – “Science Guru”

Michelle Turner – “Help Us Get Our Focus On”

Nathan Upchurch – “Forming an Earth Community”

Kelli White – “Speech Pages” and “Teddy Talker”

Melinda Wisenbaker – “Literacy in the Science Content”


# # #


Texarkana Public Schools Foundation Secretary Michelle Shores and Treasurer-Elect Ben King award $20,995 in Innovative Grant funds to forty-seven TISD teachers.

Previous articleHoward County Deputy Joey Davis Completes “Desert Snow” Training Course
Next articleCollision at Texas and 40th Street Blocks Intersection