TISD Announces AP Scholars


Texarkana Independent School District is proud to announce that 49 current students and previous year graduates have earned the designation of AP Scholar, AP Scholar with Honor, AP Scholar with Distinction or National AP Scholar by the College Board in recognition of their exceptional achievement on the college-level Advanced Placement Program (AP) Exams.

The College Board’s Advanced Placement Program provides willing and academically prepared students with the opportunity to take rigorous college-level courses while still in high school, and to earn college credit, advanced placement, or both for successful performance on the AP Exams.

Students took AP Exams in May 2015 after completing challenging college-level courses at their high schools. The College Board recognizes several levels of achievement based on student’s performance on AP exams.

Nick Richter and Haley Rogers were named National AP Scholars. This designation is granted to students who receive an average score of at least 4 on all AP exams taken and scores of 4 or higher on eight or more of these exams.

Those named AP Scholar with Distinction by earning an average score of at least 3.5 on all AP Exams taken, and grades of 3 or higher on five or more of these exams, include: Hannah Brantley, Matthew Crawford, Leah Crenshaw, Katherine Doan, Selwin George, Amanda Hackleman, Alex Markham, Raven Morris, Nick Richter, Haley Rogers and Austin Ryden.

Students named AP Scholar with Honor by earning an average score of at least 3.25 on all AP Exams taken and scores of 3 or higher on four or more of these exams are: Jonathan Asher, Harris Boles, Kaulyn Loe, John Norton, Tyler Snell and Devonte Witcher.

Qualifying students for the AP Scholar Award by completing three or more AP Examinations, with grades of 3 or higher are: Jordan Addison, Jacob Boyles, Nicole Caswell, Molly Crouch, Tucker Douglass, Maria Edwards, Anna Graves, Brandon Head, Alex Heo, Bradley Lenaway, Rachel Lewis, Naveen Malik, Garrett May, Madison Maynard, Alexander McBay, Kristin McCasland, Brett Minor, David Mitchell, John Morgan, Camryn Parsons, Caroline Purtle, Laura Rochelle, Aaron Sesler, Kaleb Smith, Logan Smith, Rachel Stuart, Alanna Tran, Elizabeth Tullis, Joshua Whitehorn and Kip Williams.

Through 34 different college-level courses and exams, AP provides willing and academically prepared students with the opportunity to earn college credit or advanced placement and stand out in the college admissions process. Each exam is developed by a committee of college and university faculty and AP teachers, ensuring that exams are aligned with the same high standards expected by college faculty at some of the nation’s leading liberal arts and research institutions. More than 3,800 colleges and universities annually receive AP scores. Most four-year colleges in the United States provide credit and/or advanced placement for qualifying exam scores. Research consistently shows that AP students who score a 3 or higher on AP Exams (based on a scale from 1 to 5, with 5 being the highest) typically experience greater academic success in college and have higher college graduation rates than students who do not participate in AP.

The College Board’s is a not-for-profit membership whose mission is to connect students to college success and opportunity. Founded in 1900, the College Board was created to expand access to higher education. Today, the membership association is made up of more than 6,000 of the world’s leading educational institutions and is dedicated to promoting excellence and equity in education. Each year, the College Board helps more than seven million students prepare for a successful transition to college through programs and services in college readiness and college success including the SAT and the Advanced Placement Program. The organization also serves the education community through research and advocacy on behalf of students, educators and schools.


Previous articleWeekly Roadwork Report – TxDOT Atlanta District for Dec. 20-26, 2015
Next articleUnited We Rock New Years Party