U of A Hope-Texarkana Receives Donation for Nursing Scholarships


The University of Arkansas Hope -Texarkana is pleased to announce the CHRISTUS St. Michael Foundation will establish 10 new scholarships for students in the schools Practical Nurse to Registered Nurse program in the Arkansas Rural Nursing Education Consortium (ARNEC).  ARNEC is a consortium of eight community and technical colleges located in rural areas of Arkansas.  ARNEC was created to provide LPN’s/ LVN’s with the opportunity to take the next step towards advancing their careers in nursing by earning Associates of Applied Science in Nursing degrees.


The CHRISTUS St. Michael Nursing scholarships will be awarded beginning in the spring of 2016 to students pursuing RN degrees through the ARNEC program at U of A Hope-Texarkana.  Awards will be based on the greatest “unmet needs” of students with 3.0 or higher GPAs.


U of A Texarkana Chancellor Chris Thomason said, “We are grateful for this partnership with CHRISTUS St. Michael Foundation to assist our students with the financial hurdles of obtaining higher education.  Opportunities in the healthcare profession are exciting for our students and our institution.  Establishing these scholarships is another example of CHRISTUS St. Michael Health System’s commitment to the communities they serve, and U of A Texarkana is proud to be a part of the local community.”


For more information about, or to apply for these new scholarships, visit the college webpage at www.uacch.edu.


PICTURED LEFT TO RIGHT: CHRISTUS St. Michael Health System President and Chief Executive Officer Chris Karam, CHRISTUS St. Michael Foundation Chairman Dean Barry, Executive Director of CHRISTUS St. Michael Foundation Susan Landreaux, and U of A Hope -Texarkana Chancellor, Chris Thomason


Previous articleTxDOT Weekly Roadwork Report May 10 – 16
Next articleU of A Hope & Texarkana Operation JumpStart Class 3 Winners